Back when Covered California went online, I registered for healthcare and took whatever the state gave struggling, working people below the poverty level.  Such is the life of a college student.  I received an insurance card and never used it.  Then I got sick Saturday, October 3, 2015 with cellulitis and a call to the insurance company nurse line directed me to the Emergency Room at Mercy San Juan Hospital in North Sacramento County.

I spent 7 hours in the ER awaiting a room and medical attention and as assaulted by a security guard but once I made it to the room the staff and service and treatment.  They were attentive to my mental and physical needs.  So, they saved my life by using strong antibiotics to reverse the crawl of sepsis up my legs.  I realize this will be paid for in full by my insurance carrier.  They sent me home with paper prescription for the pain killers as they are controlled by strict laws.  The two others for antibiotics were sent to the closest Wal-Mart.

Picking up the prescription from Wal-Mart yielded no out of pocket expenses by using the card, this is the reason I chose Wal-Mart.  I know about the evils of the corporation but under these conditions, it was closest and it was free.  It only took 30 minutes for them to fill the prescription. Two incredibly strong antibiotics, one twice a day for ten days and the other four times a day, every six hours, for ten days.  So in ten days I should be infection free.