image

I have always loved taking pictures of people, both candid, semi and fully posed. I quickly discovered that the more at ease I could make the subject, the better the pictures came out. The more likely I was to get a genuine smile, where it spreads like a nuclear explosion from the center of the mouth and throughout the face infusing color and an inner shine.  Pictures with a smile like this can elicit responses from the subjects friends and family that it is a very good picture of them. This is the bar that I try and set when taking pictures of people.

image

I always want to try and make then look thwir best but more then that, I want them to look beautiful. I find the human body beautiful and there are certail contours and curves that when nature forms them properly are just beautiful to me.  The amazing symmetry and geometry in the human form is pleasing to.me.

image

So when I have subjects that I care about, that I have some sort of connection with, I want that genuine smile to be a stunning one. This is often very difficult to achieve because you have to find the right setting, the right banter and most of all the right build up.

This is the hardest part and back in my film days it often meant taking 4 or more frames per set to get a good smile and multiple sets to get a genuine smile.  This often meant hours in the darkroom developing film and making contact sheets. A multi-stage process that took all day.  Enter the digital age.

I so want a DSLR and a microsd card that will upload the images to my phone or tablet via wifi or a camera that does the same.  Right now, I use either my Samsung Galaxy Note or my HTC Flyer to take and edit the photographs I take.  I like the panorama feature on the Note and the widescreen format on the Flyer.  But both of thr cameras have a fixed focus and no optical zoom.  I want a camera with the features of an SLR.

